Libra Constellation Facts

By Denise on April 11, 2014, 39070 views

Libra is one of the constellations of the zodiac and belongs to the 88 modern constellations.

According to the tropical astrology the Sun resides in Libra from September 23 to October 22, while in the sidereal astrology is it said to transit it from October 16 to November 15. Astrologically, this is associated with the planet Venus.

The constellation’s name comes from Latin name for scales, the symbol of justice and balance. It was first described by Ptolemy who described it with its 17 stars.

Libra constellation from the Northern Hemisphere lies between Virgo to the east and Scorpio to the west. This is also the only zodiac constellation that has a non animal, non human symbol.

Dimensions: 538 square degrees.

Rank: 29th

Brightness: This is a fairly faint constellation that has no first magnitude stars.

History: Libra was known in the Babylonian astronomy as MUL Zibanu, their name for scales. This was held sacred under the god of justice Shamash. Libra has always been associated with justice and fairness.

The old Arabs considered it as the claw of Scorpion. Early Roman astrology depicted the scales held by Astraea, the Virgo goddess of justice.

Stars: This constellation has quite faints stars but the brightest stars do form a quadrangle. Some of Libra’s stars include Zubenelgenubi (alpha Librae), Zubeneschamali (beta Librae) and Zubenelakrab (gamma Librae).  Libra also has binary and double stars. For example, theres is iota Librae, a multiple star.

Galaxies: This constellation has a bright globular cluster identified as NGC 5897.

Planetary systems: Gliese 581 is one planetary system of Libra that consists of at least 6 planets.

About the author

Denise, Founder and Editor in Chief

Denise, Founder and Editor in Chief

Denise shows her take on subjects she is passionate about as the Founder and Editor in Chief of and other online projects she is involved in. See profile