The Houses of the Zodiac

By Denise on April 11, 2014, 46301 views

Astrology has divided the space of the zodiac in twelve places for the twelve zodiac signs and also twelve virtual places called houses. These elements are considered to be “ruled by” a certain zodiac sign each, therefore influencing the traits of that zodiac sign. The following will concisely describe the twelve houses of the zodiac. Each of these can take you to a more in-depth description of that house.

The First House

This is also called the Ascendant and is said to generally be ruled by Aries. It symbolizes the physical presence and how the world perceives an individual. This can only mean that the energetic Aries is inclined to be very attentive with how he/she is perceived by others. It suggests the beginning in all matters and as Arieses are action people this combination can only empower their whole lives towards various initiatives and important decisions.

The Second House

This is the space of material possession and other things an individual values in life. The combination with Taurus can only double his/her quest for personal possession, whether we’re talking about money or principles therefore orienting this zodiac sign towards wealth and life pleasures.

The Third House

This is a space of communication, human interaction and knowledge. This explains why Geminians’ attention towards human interaction and why they appear to be so sociable and charming. This house also relates to broadening one’s universe through travelling. This is why Gemini is in a permanent search of broadening their knowledge through social contact.

The Fourth House

This is a space of domestic security, familiar environments and ancestry. This is why Cancerians are known to put much emphasis on concepts like cherished belongings, belonging to a home and personal safety. This is exactly what the sensible Cancer needs to surround with. Cancer is inclined towards remembering passed times and collecting souvenirs at his/her home.

The Fifth House

This is a space of pleasures, from games, simple fun and social contact to love and intimate relations. This house also relates to children and their sheer joy and energy. Leos can express themselves properly in an understanding but also competitive and active environment.

The Sixth House

This is a space of services, performance and health. Virgo is just as complex as this house. This is why Virgoans are so hard working and overly critical. This also explains the interest they take in health matters and why they are prone to hypochondriac episodes.

The Seventh House

This is the space of close partnership, the exact opposite of the egotistic house one of self. Whether it refers to a spouse or a business partnership this is the turning point in Libra’s life quest. Libras seem to find their balance when the good of this particular relation is accomplished. This suggests how critical is for Libras to choose people whom can help them grow further and achieve the balance they crave for.

The Eight House

This house represents orientation towards the possessions of others. This relates to the permanent struggle for whatever others have and the incessant feeling of ambition coupled with envy. This house also governs over the unknown and over the ultimate transformation of death.

The Ninth House

This is a space of long distance travel and long term transformation. It also refers to extending knowledge, higher education, life philosophies and in general all adventure life has to offer to an individual.

The Tenth House

This is a space of paternity and virility. It suggests the wilful and fertile male figure who aims high. It is often related with the search of a career and all our professional roles in life. But it also marks the struggle of every individual towards choosing a professional path in life and having to deal with a social status and what others think.

The Eleventh House

This is a space of dream, higher goals and friendship. It strengthens the importance of social contact, openness and friendly behaviour. This explains why Aquarius, the chief dreamer and idealist of the zodiac is placed here.

The Twelfth House

This is a space of completion and renewal of life cycles. It also suggests strength and rejuvenation that come from knowledge. This is the turning point where an individual analyses all life decisions and starts over after a success or a pitfall, rising each and every time just like the Phoenix bird.

About the author

Denise, Founder and Editor in Chief

Denise, Founder and Editor in Chief

Denise shows her take on subjects she is passionate about as the Founder and Editor in Chief of and other online projects she is involved in. See profile